Just Do It.

Just do it

I do a really good job at psyching myself out. When I’m not really sure what to do, or if the Holy Spirit is leading me to do something, I’m really good at convincing myself to do nothing. It’s much easier to stay in my comfort zone, to not speak up, to not do anything that might make me and anyone else uncomfortable.

 

But, it’s those times when I do something that I feel led to do, something the Holy Spirit has placed in my head and is nudging me to do, that I feel alive. Those times when I decide just to do it, just to talk to that person, just to speak an encouraging word, just to speak up, are those times when I feel like I did what was right and I did what I should have done.

 

When I get out of those situations having not done what I felt led to do or encouraged to do, I second guess myself and wonder “what if”–what if I had shared my faith, what if I had invited them to something, what if I had taken the time to talk to that person and I learned a valuable lesson, what if on my way to encourage that person I actually became encouraged myself? Then I begin to wish that I had something, but now it is too late and I can’t go back to change my decision.

 

It is in these moments when I realize that when I feel led to do something, when I feel the Holy Spirit putting something not just in my head but in my heart, that I need to follow that old Nike slogan and “Just Do It.”

 

It is not always easy to share your faith; but it is necessary. It is not always comfortable to speak to someone you don’t know that well (or a complete stranger); but it can be rewarding (for both of you).

 

This entire post stems from inviting someone to the Easter services this weekend at my church:

I was at work and all the kids were asleep. The staff were talking a little bit, but normally I use this down time to finish whatever work needs to be done and then work on homework. So, I began to do my homework, but as I did I felt this overwhelming sense that I should put my homework down and talk to one of my co-workers who was there. I found a natural ending spot in my reading, set my homework down, and just kind of jumped into a conversation with a couple co-workers. From this stemmed a few conversations throughout the evening where I learned a bunch about all of my co-workers that evening. We all learned some about each other and it was a really encouraging evening. One of them the Lord had placed on my heart, so we continued to talk throughout the evening, and it just so happened I had packed a flyer in my work bag that morning. I knew the Holy Spirit was leading me to give him that flyer and invite him, but I didn’t know if it was the right place or time. I began to psych myself out and make excuses. But, finally, I resolved in my head that I was just going to do it. I had nothing to lose and he had everything to gain. So I went up and told him a bit about my church and handed him the flyer, inviting him to come on out to one of the services. He looked genuinely thankful, almost like he hadn’t been invited to a church in a long time! He even stood up and shook my hand to thank me for inviting him! It was encouraging and uplifting for both of us, and we walked away with a better relationship and basically a more positive outlook on life!

Maybe you never struggle inviting people or talking to people, but I think a lot of people can relate with the tentative nature of talking to someone about something that places us outside of our comfort zones. I hope you can relate to this. I hope it encourages you and you have the courage to ask someone from your work or friend group or family to go to an Easter service this weekend! You have nothing to lose, and they could gain the greatest gift of all, eternal life through a personal relationship of faith in Jesus Christ.

Don’t be afraid to ask. Just do it!

P.S. This being said, come on out to the Easter services at New Life Church!

NL Easter

Leave a Reply

