Last Things

As Connie and I are getting ready to enter a new phase of life, there are a lot of things that are coming to an end. But, as they say, all good things must come to an end. These things are coming to an end and we are going to move on to even greater things in Holland, MI!

 

This week I have officially said goodbye to Oaklawn. I have worked here for almost two years (about a year and 10 months), and have seen many people and experienced many unforgettable things while working here. There are a lot of people I will miss, and some incredible people I had the great privilege of working with. Working in a psychiatric facility, we became like a family. It didn’t matter who you were working with, or what unit, you knew these people had your back. I learned many things about myself, about working with people, and about working with teenagers that will impact me for many years to come. I am so thankful for this experience.

 

IMG_0386

This week I have officially said goodbye to teaching BCM at Notre Dame and Indiana University South Bend. I taught a weekly Bible study at both universities, IUSB for 2 years and ND for 1 year. I have learned a lot here as well. For example, though similar in age, there are very different personalities between the students at both universities, and it has taken some getting used to in order to adjust teaching style and lessons from week to week. We’ve all grown up in the past couple years, and it’s been exciting to see how BCM has been able to have an impact on these campuses and in the lives of the individuals who have graciously attended, especially at the beginning when I’m sure my teaching was pretty rough (not that it’s gotten a whole lot better :)).

 

IMG_0283

There are still a few things that I will have to say goodbye to, but I have a few more weeks to soak in some more memories before I’m gone. I’ll be saying goodbye to all the kids in TeamKID and Promise Land, the volunteers I’ve had the pleasure of working with, the IMPACT Young Adult group I’ve been able to teach every Sunday morning, and the countless friends and families that I’ve had the tremendous pleasure and privilege of meeting and loving over the 24 years I’ve been attending New Life.

 

new calvary banner

Leaving may be slightly bittersweet, but there is so much excitement and potential on the horizon that I wouldn’t have it any other way! Connie and I are getting married in two short weeks and I am beginning my dream job as a Youth Pastor at Calvary Baptist Church in Holland, MI. God could not have provided for us in any clearer or better way than He has. It’s been amazing to see Him so evident in this process and this exciting time in our lives!

 

I’ll keep up the blogging, and will try to put some more personal ones together as time goes on so everyone can stay up to date on our lives if they want to :) We just got a new camera too, so maybe pictures will randomly find their way here as well!

 

P.S. I am so overwhelmingly excited to be going where I know God is calling me and to be doing what I know God has specifically gifted me for. It’s going to be a great adventure :)

Leave a Reply

