The First of Many

This past Sunday was my first at a new church! I had the blessing to teach the students at Souled Out, the youth group at Calvary Baptist Church here in Holland. I was reminded that I have been at the same church for literally my entire life…until this past Sunday. It is kind of a weird milestone, but I so look forward to the amazing things that God has in store for Connie and I and the students here.

 

We are definitely hitting the ground running here in Holland. Not just at work, but at our home as well. Figuring out furniture, realizing that we need to buy things that we have never even though about before (like a leaf blower because of all those helicopter things falling from the trees in numbers so great the grass now has a carpet of light tan), and decorating our house to make it into a home. Along with a missions trip coming up in just under two weeks, figuring out names and remembering them, and figuring out the office hours (I assumed work started at 9, so I came in at 9 the past few days only to find out the office opens at 8! Oops :)).

 

God is so good. The amazing thing about our move here to Holland, and the reason this post is called “The First of Many,” is that I am now working my dream job! God gave me a great passion and heart for youth ministry a number of years ago, and He taught me and prepared me and grew me in order for me to be the right person for this youth ministry at Calvary Baptist Church. It is such an exciting time in our lives. Connie and I are so blessed and so thankful. None of this would have happened without our friends and family supporting us and encouraging us and challenging us to think outside the box, to grow in our faith, and to pursue Jesus Christ in everything we do.

 

For all of those who read this (thanks Mom and Dad :)), that is my prayer for you. I pray that you would have solid, loving friends and family who encourage you, lift you up to a higher level, challenge you to be a better person, and help sharpen and strengthen your faith. Relationships are so important, and they really change lives, for better or worse. Find people who speak into your life, and speak into others’ lives. Be a giver, not a taker, and give out of the overflow of your heart, from all that God has given to you.

 

Encourage someone today :)

2 Thessalonians 2:16-17 – “May our Lord Jesus Christ himself and God our Father, who loved us and by his grace gave us eternal encouragement and good hope, encourage your hearts and strengthen you in every good deed and word.”

3 thoughts on “The First of Many

  1. Great post! God speed as you begin this new chapter in your life! You’ll love living there. And hey, you’re in VanderWier country! Lots of Dave’s 2nd cousins live there and some even go to your church! Enjoy being a youth pastor! You had some pretty good teachers!

    Like

  2. Great post! Prayers/God speed as you begin this new chapter in your life! You’ll love living there. And hey, you’re in VanderWier country. Dave has 2nd cousins that live there and some even go to your church. Check out Second Floor Bakery(owned by a Vanderwier)

    Enjoy being a great youth leader – win them to the kingdom! After all you had some pretty great teachers in your life!

    Like

Leave a Reply

