Top 5 Posts I Read This Week

I’ve recently been thinking about why I even have a blog. I’ve heard the good and the bad side of blogging, read some awful blogs, read some incredible blogs, and seen things everywhere in between. Sort of my dream for this blog is that it would be a hybrid tool to tell my family and Connie’s family and our friends about what has been going on in our lives, to challenge people to live out their faith in daily life, to encourage other friends in ministry with the ministry we have here at Calvary Baptist Church, to help people grow and strengthen their faith, and to point to Jesus hopefully through it all. In the name of growth and challenge and encouraging, I am going to start reposting blogs that I have read here on my blog.

 

There are so many different blogs out there I thought it would be cool to sort of be a hub where I could compile a bunch of different blogs and place them here for easier access or something. There are too many blogs to just put a new post up for every post I read, so I am going to consolidate them into a list each week of blogs that I have read that impacted me in some way. Here we go, I hope you enjoy!:

  1. My lovely wife sent me this post from Frank Powell‘s page and it’s a really good one. Millenials tend to get a bad reputation, but they have so much collective power in this world… It could be used in such a powerful way if it could be harnessed and used for the glory of God.
  2. Doubt is sometimes a difficult topic to talk about. This article from Relevant Magazine talks about one guy’s struggles with doubt and how he helped to reconcile his doubt with his faith. Doubt can get carried away, for sure, but it is not always unnecessary. After all, there will be people who doubt your faith, so if you have never doubted and had to wrestle with your faith and struggle to understand the greatness, goodness, love, mercy, and forgiveness of Jesus Christ, then how will you answer someone on the day they question you?
  3. As a new youth director, this particular topic really caught my attention. Do I place students in boxes based on one or two things I know about them? Or do I recognize the multi-faceted personalities that embody every single person? It is easy to make generalizations, but the issue with a generalization is that it ironically leaves so many people out.
  4. This post is on a site called “New Man” but I think it is something we can all relate to. It is so easy to get too busy. Satan so effectively uses distractions and busyness in our lives to draw us away from a vibrant, growing relationship with Jesus Christ. They can even be really good things (like marriage, kids, sports, running, work, etc.), which makes it even more effective for Satan’s plan to make us inactive and mediocre. Don’t let him win this battle over your life. I pray none of us is every too busy for God.
  5. All of us are leaders in some capacity. This article talks about the power of fear to cripple leadership, and to keep our focus on the right Person (hint: not yourself). It is easy to let fear get in the way of what God wants to do in and through you. I know that I let fear get the better of my leadership capabilities when I was younger. I was afraid to step up, but there really is no good reason not to step up. Life is more exciting when we are living it to it’s fullest.

I hope these points are as encouraging to you as they were to me this week!

Proverbs 4:7 (NIV) – “The beginning of wisdom is this: Get wisdom. Though it cost all you have, get understanding.”

Leave a Reply

