“Do not be afraid, for I am with you” (Genesis 26:24)

I remember as a child when, for whatever reason, I would be afraid of something and would sort of start to panic and freak out and know that I needed to get to a safe place. This could happen in the middle of a night with a scary dream, or even in the middle of the day watching a scary movie or when something just freaky happens. Whatever the case, as a child, I ran to my parents because they were the one’s in my mind who would keep me safe no matter how afraid I felt. We can all remember a time as kids ourselves, or kids in movies or TV shows we’ve seen, when we ran out of our room straight to our parents bed to cuddle with them because we were afraid of something.

Do not be afraidWhat made us not afraid anymore? I think as a kid, when I was next to my parents, I was fearless. Why? Their presence. We run to our parents or guardians or caretakers in these times of fear as children because just being in the presence of someone who has that kind of love and power in our lives is someone we can trust to protect us from fear.

Tonight from the book of Genesis we see the principle of presence driving out fear.

“and the LORD appeared to him that night and said, “I am the God of your father Abraham. Do not be afraid, for I am with you. I will bless you and multiply your offspring because of My servant Abraham” (Genesis 26:24, HCSB)

We don’t have to live in fear because we can live in the arms of Christ. We can live under His influence, in His presence, abiding in His love and grace and forgiveness. We can walk every single day of our lives in freedom from fear when we recognize the presence of God in our lives.

Are you afraid of something? Are you anxious about something? Are you doubting something? Are you stressed about something? Lay it all at the feet of Jesus, take up His yoke and His burden (Matthew 11:28-30), and live free from that fear.

Begin a personal relationship with Jesus Christ, call on Him as your Savior and Lord, believe that He died and rose again for your sins (Romans 10:9). Experience His salvation and live every day in His presence as His Holy Spirit fills your heart and your life (Acts 1:8) and you begin to live as a new creation (2 Corinthians 5:17) and live out the fullness of life Jesus promises (John 10:10).

 

Live in God’s presence each day. His presence drives out all fear.

 

Leave a Reply

