Christmas Colors

I was standing in line at Starbucks to get a free refill of my black coffee (because it’s the cheapest option, and Starbucks is a great place for me to read and study—I like the background noise of a coffee shop!), and I saw all around me the red and green colors of Christmas. While I was waiting, I was trying to figure out in my mind why the colors are red and green—who decided these are the main colors of Christmas? Why these colors? What do they mean?

Christmas Red and Green lights

As I was thinking about these colors, I came up with my own understanding of what the colors could mean. I don’t know if this is by any means accurate, but I think it is just a cool thought about what the colors could mean, and I think this could give us all a greater anticipation and excitement as we recognize what this Christmas season is actually all about.

GREEN

What better symbolizes something new, vibrant, and growing than the color green? As winter fades away and the April showers bring forth May flowers, the world again around us turns green, teeming with life. There is a newness to the season, a new air and attitude that Spring or Summer has arrived. Winter is passed, trees are coming back to life, and grass is growing again. Green lawns; green trees; green everything symbolizes this new birth of the new season.

Likewise, the coming of Jesus Christ was like the coming of the new season. Jesus coming was like the greenery revealing new life and new birth. Jesus came down from heaven to be born as a human child, 100% God and 100% man, so that we could identify with Him and have the opportunity for relationship with Him. The name “Immanuel,” prophesied in Isaiah 7:14, literally means, “God with us.” God came to live among His creation, which dispels any argument that God the Creator is some distant, uncaring God. John 3:16 (HCSB) says, “For God loved the world in this way: He gave His One and Only Son, so that everyone who believes in Him will not perish but have eternal life.”

The green equals life; the new, perfect, sinless life of Jesus Christ.

RED

Jesus Christ was born into this new, perfect, sinless, human life in order to set straight the broken relationship between us and God. Jesus died so that we could have eternal life with God through faith in Christ.

Jesus was literally born (green) for the purpose of sacrificially dying on the Cross (red) for your sins and for my sins. Hebrews 2:9 (NLT) says, “What we do see is Jesus, who was given a position ‘a little lower than the angels’; and because he suffered death for us, he is now ‘crowned with glory and honor.’ Yes, by God’s grace, Jesus tasted death for everyone.” So Jesus was born to die, but He was born to die so that you and I may live.

As we go through this Christmas season, let us pray that we will not lose the wonder of the Christ’s birth and the reality of Christ’s death in the consumeristic lifestyle it is so easy to fall into. Let us pray that we will be able to share the Good News of Jesus Christ this season with those in need. And let us pray that we may serve our Heavenly Father as well as Jesus Christ, who said, “For I have come down from heaven, not to do My will, but the will of Him who sent Me”; let our prayer be to do the will of our Father in heaven, and not our own wills.

Leave a Reply

