One Resolution to Rule Them All

Okay, so pardon my Lord of the Rings remake title, but as I was thinking about the end of 2014 and the beginning of 2015, this idea hit my mind that I want to share.

Resolutions

new-years-resolutions-2015-memes-13When you hear that word, what pops into your head? Unmet expectations? Unrealistic goals? Unachievable objectives?

I’m not sure who popularized the idea of New Year’s Resolutions, but it is a concept that gyms and health food stores love.

new-years-resolutions-2015-memes-16I’ll never forget when I was in college, at the beginning of the year I hated going to the Wellness Center. I would almost feel like the guy in this picture!

It was absolutely packed!…for a few weeks. There was the same pattern every year. January 1 the gym would be so full it was hard to get on a machine to even get a good workout. But right around the beginning of February or the last week of January, the gym would start to thin out and the regulars would remain. The regulars are those who had made going to the gym a habit instead of a resolution.

So as you consider making a New Year’s Resolution this year, here is what I want you to think about as the “One Resolution to Rule Them All“:

Resolve to follow God in every, and I mean every, area of your personal, family, and public life until it develops into a habit. And then keep doing it.

I think this one resolution is something we can all strive for and succeed in doing. Resolutions notoriously go unkept.

Instead of disappointing yourself by focusing on something you need to change or improve or get better at, focus on following God with all your heart, with all your soul, with all your strength, and with all your mind this New Year of 2015. It will transform how you live your life, why you live your life, and the quality of your life.

Leave a Reply

