Manual focus

When I was younger I had my eyes set on a camera. I really enjoy seeing pictures and taking pictures. I have a desire to be artsy, but I’m not always creative enough. Look at cameras I’ve always been something in the family of the Canon Rebel T3 or something along those lines. I’d see them at Sam’s Club when shopping with my mom. I would look at them on Amazon. I would see others who had them. I just really wanted one, but they were very expensive!

So I made do with what I had. I had a little Canon pocket sized digital camera that worked great and took great pictures, especially action shots. The camera kept the movement in focus and I was always impressed at how well it did. After that I got another Canon that was a little bit bigger and fancier, but still not a Canon Rebel. This camera worked awesome too, and only recently did I stop using it. The reason I stopped using it is because I FINALLY got a Canon Rebel T3i! Connie and I used some money we received as a gift and purchased one to use for our family. It was an exciting day!!

This image must not be reproduced without permission.The moment the camera arrived I started playing with it and practicing taking pictures. I had to learn how to use the camera and the different settings and the different lenses that came with it. I didn’t totally understand it, but the lens makes such a big difference. There is a switch on most lenses too which give the opportunity for the camera to automatically do the work, or for you to manually do the work. This picture and the idea of auto and manual focus are what I was thinking about when I read this verse from Isaiah 44:8:

“Do not tremble, do not be afraid. Did I not proclaim this and foretell it long ago? You are my witnesses. Is there any God besides me? No, there is no other Rock; I know not one.”

You see, we have no reason to tremble, to be afraid, when our focus is on God and His power, knowing that He is the One True God. There is no other Rock to stand on or trust in. It is God and God alone. When our focus is there, we have nothing to fear.

The problem is, auto focus doesn’t focus us on God. Our default, our auto focus, is most often and more likely going to focus on immediate problems, stressors, and situations in our world.

To live a life free from fear of God, we really have to take back control and manually focus on God. We have to do the work and the study to know how to focus on God and keep our focus there. It is not easy, it requires continual study and communication, but it will be worth it when our manual focus is placed on God and He replaces our fear with His love.

I’d like to end with a quote I read recently from Oswald Chambers:

“The remarkable thing about God is that when you fear God, you fear nothing else, whereas if you do not fear God, you fear everything else.”

One thought on “Manual focus

Leave a Reply

