What are you known for?

What are you known for? It is usually by what we do that we are known. Peyton Manning and Brett Favre are not known for their skill in bowling, but for their incredible ability to play quarterback. Taylor Swift and Justin Bieber are not known for their athleticism, but are known for their musical talents. Vince Lombardi and Bill Belichick are known for their skill as coaches.

There are many quotes that talk about the outward actions of our lives.

“Actions speak louder than words.”

“You are what you do, not what you say you’ll do.”

“Show me, don’t tell me.”

“Characterize people by their actions and you will never be fooled by their words.”

All of these may be true, to one degree or another. But, for our Tuesday Challenge today I want to dig deeper. I think we can agree that what we do is a reflection of who we are.

Ultimately, what are you known for is another way of asking, “Who are you, really?”

If my actions (especially those actions in moments of weakness, of pain, in privacy, in reaction, etc.) reveal who I really am on the inside, what are they saying? Is it a positive thing? Or negative? Does it worry me? Or do I like who I am?

The challenge today is to be someone worth knowing.

Someone worth knowing is someone who is caring, loving, speaks truth, is gracious, servant-hearted, and adds value to the people he or she interacts with.

This kind of person is irresistible. I want to hang out with this person.

Leave a Reply

