What do you see in the mirror?

Have you ever looked in the mirror at the end of the day and had that thought, “Wow. Have I looked like this all day?” or “Has my hair been sticking up like that all day?” or “Where did that zit come from? Has it been there long?” Mirrors often reflect back our physical imperfections. The verse quoted below talks about seeing ourself in the right way…

Be not wise in your own eyes;
    fear the Lord, and turn away from evil.
  It will be healing to your flesh
    and refreshment to your bones.” – Proverbs 3:7-8

We need to view ourself and God with the proper perspective. There is a certain order that things fit in, and when that order gets messed up things can go drastically wrong. God is bigger and better than you and me. He is smarter, wiser, stronger, and a better planner. There are things that God does that I don’t understand, and I may never understand, but whatever God decides to do, that is the best possible course of action.

If I disagree or don’t understand, that doesn’t mean God is wrong and I am right. I don’t have things figured out better than God. I don’t have a better plan or a better method than he does. So I shouldn’t try to do things my own way, in my own strength, for my own self. That can create in me a selfishness and pride that only brings pain and shame and guilt and heartache.

Instead, the best course of action is to look in the mirror, realize my limitations and small-mindedness and understand that God has no limitations. I should humbly submit myself under his purpose and plan, respect his word, and turn away from evil and do good. If I do this, the Bible proclaims that it will be healing to my flesh and refreshing to my bones.

If I submit myself to God, turn away from evil and sin, then I won’t have anything to be ashamed, embarrassed or guilty over. I won’t have to carry around the weight of my sin and shame. I will be able to experience healing and refreshing because I was able to see through humble eyes that I don’t have things all figured out, but I know the God who knows everything and I can trust him.

Leave a Reply

